Scary Puppets and Cross Dressing Gnomes

Why are the movies that we saw and loved as children so important to us now?

Recently I was at a local restaurant, and had to visit the little boys room. As I was standing there, I noticed this poster hanging over the toilet. It made me smile.

muppetmov.jpg

I loved The Muppet Movie. I mean, come on… The Rainbow Connection? I wanted to be both a lover and a dreamer, and to someday find that connection. It was a road trip movie, probably the first one that I had seen. I love a good road trip movie. And, Kermit and Fozzie and the gang got to meet “Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem” for the first time (Can You Picture That?). There’s just something so innocent about this movie. It’s both happy and sad, you know?

What’s so amazing that keeps us stargazing?
And what do we think we might see?
Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection,
the lovers, the dreamers and me.

One evening years and years ago my family went to the drive in to see ET. Unbeknownst to us it was a double feature night, and we also got to see The Dark Crystal. It was probably my first introduction to high fantasy. It also scared the crap outta me. At one point a cute little gelfling gets its soul sucked out of it’s body, and it shrivels up and withers away, becoming a teeny zombie. And the Skeksis. They were skeletonized bird-reptile things that tortured small animals. Now that I think about it, how were we all not traumatized by this movie? And yet, I love it so.

Speaking of trauma – what about Return to Oz? Yes, it starred Fairuza Balk (I swear I’m not a stalker). But, remember the witch, Mombi? She could remove HER HEAD. She had a room full of bodiless heads, all in little glass cages, and she could switch them. And this was a Disney movie! The scarecrow was in it, and a pumpkin guy, and a flying bed that had a moose head. Yeah – it was a strange little movie. Oh! A gnome king stole Dorothy’s ruby slippers, and had them on under his gown. Total cross dresser.

Mombi – tell me this isn’t a freakin’ scary lady…

mombi.jpg

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scary Puppets and Cross Dressing Gnomes

  1. Hubby says:

    I watched Helter Skelter as a child. What does that say about me?

  2. chris2fer says:

    Probably more than you want it to…
    🙂

  3. Sabrina says:

    The poster on the bathroom wall of the “local restaurant” is of The Great Muppet Caper, not The Muppet Movie. I only point it out becuase it is in the bathroom of Hot Suppa, one of the best places to eat breakfast or lunch in Portland. The bathroom is unisex, which is why I know what is on the wall.

    Chris2fer did not blog about our recent experience there and it kind of disappointed me. The food was so good! I think he didn’t blog about it because instead of interacting with his friends he had his nose in a paper. Rude. Hub and I had to resort to reading the paper too. Not rude if out of bordom and retaliation.

    I recall reading about a Norm’s employee who fell down an elevator shaft and died. How terrible. I hope it wasn’t the bartender of the Congress Street Norms, because that guy is hot! Oh and Norms on Congress street is one of my most favorite places in all of Portland.

  4. chris2fer says:

    Sabrina is hereby banned from the comment section.

  5. music says:

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

