Fajita Grill

Place: Fajita Grill

Time: Friday November 9, 2007. 7pm

With: Jess & Matt, Hubby

Where:  Westbrook, Maine

Plot:

Jess and Matt left us two weekends ago, unannounced (at least to me) and without permission. As such, we had a little withdrawal and NEEDED to go out to eat with them last Friday. However, we also NEEDED to spend as little as possible. Yay, Christmas! We all like Mexican, and we all like cheap, so off we went to Fajita Grill.

I am reliably informed that Fajita used to be a sports bar. Having never been inside something like that, because ew, and no, I can only imagine that the decor that I found inside the restaurant had not changed overmuch. There were large colorful stripes running around the walls. Remember that 80’s sitcom “Too Close for Comfort”? The 2 daughters in that show lived in an apartment downstairs from their parents, and it was painted just like this place – huge horizontal stripes across the whole restaurant. Classy.

This little guy was stuck in the paint, a permanent fixture watching over our meal. Hello, little dead insect friend!

When we got there, our waiter sat us and said the requisite “Hola” and “Amigo” and such, and brought us some chips and salsa. Not too original, but it all tasted good.

Jess and I ordered the LARGE margaritas. Oh my god. Yum. Shortly after our drinks arrived, our food was on the table. I’m talkin’ 10 minutes. So quick!

Now, this is where it gets interesting. The food here is AWESOME. Seriously. I’m not sure if it had to do with the fact that I had tequila in my belly, but…

Jess and the Hub ordered the “Fajitas el Potrillo” to share. It was a plate of Fajita fixings that had chicken, shrimp, pork, beef, and chorizo sausage. The kindly let me taste each of the proteins, and YUMMER! It was all cooked perfectly, in some kind of wonder sauce. I swear to god, they had to put napkins on the plate afterwards to stop (me) from licking it.

Matt and I ordered the “Burrito Super California”, not to share. We each had our own. And it was the size of my head. I’m not sure why they call it Super California, and I don’t care. It was good. It was huge. It was filled with rice and chicken and cheese and refried beans. And it was covered in a cheese sauce. CHEESE SAUCE. I felt my arteries clogging with each bite, and yet I could not stop eating.

Bottom Line: Go to Fajita’s, just not on a fancy shmancy date night. Go for the food, not the “ambiance”.

Rating: 8 stars out of 10

This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fajita Grill

  1. mainemom32 says:

    I think I just gained 5 lbs by looking at your dinner…seriously! Hahaha 😀

    Makes me miss the Border in Harvard Square 😦

  2. chris2fer says:

    I never went to the Border in Harvard square… Was it good?

  3. mainemom32 says:

    Mmmmmmmm! So good…also good eye candy there…lots of college-aged Harvardites.

  4. Darling Nikki says:

    I see you failed to mention who turned you on the wonder that is Fajita Grill!
    ¡Arriba! ¡Arriba! ¡Ándale! ¡Ándale!

  5. Paige says:

    i love the grill!!!! and don’t u jus love how they practically yell @ u when they sing happy birthday in spanish!!! wondeful food great experiance!!

  6. Pingback: A Weekend of Good/Bad Eating « Dana’s Blog

Leave a Reply

