Fantasy Eating Spectacular

Let the bloat begin… 

We are planning a HUGE Thanksgiving celebration at my parent’s house this year. Usually we party at my Nannie’s, but since it is just 6 of us due to some of the cousins hangin with other members of the family who aren’t us (bitter scowl) we decided to not overburden Nannie.

On Sunday we were eating lunch together and we all decided what we were going to bring to our “fantasy eating spectacular”. Here is the list. Please keep in mind, this is just for 6 people…

1. Turkey – My mother is brining her turkey this year. Who knew?
2. Mashed potatoes with garlic and sour cream
3. Sweet potatoes – Nannie likes, so we make…
4. Roasted carrots and parsnips
5. Nannie’s grey slimy stuffing (ew, which lead us to…)
6. Mom’s apple sausage stuffing (Yummer!)
7. Squash casserole
8. Parmesan Popovers
9. Crescent Rolls – for those who dislike popovers (’cause they CRAZY)
10. Apple pie
11. Blueberry pie
12. Pecan Pie

Yeah. We’re getting carried away. But think of the leftover possibilities!

charleston_pilgrims.jpg

When I was a kid we had a pilgrim village cardboard standup decoration that we would put up every Thanksgiving. I had totally forgotten it until recently, when I asked my Mom about it. She laughed and said “That old thing? Oh, I threw that away ages ago. I didn’t think you’d care.” Then she poked me in the eye with a sharp fingernail, leapt to her broomstick and flew away. You know, cause she’s mean.

pilgrim_village.jpg

ANYWAY, I went searching for the village, and couldn’t find it. I know that you are very sad. On the other hand, I did learn all about “Papercraft”. This is an art form where people make elaborate paper models of little animals and vegetables and minerals and such. These are actually incredible. Look at this Zelda!

link.jpg

Awesome Papercraft Site

And, to round out this superlong Thanksgiving post, here is my squash casserole recipe. We hate squash, so you KNOW that this is just a delivery system for fats and cheeses.

Chris2fer’s Yummer Squash Casserole:

1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 lb. butternut squash, cubed and boiled
1/2 tsp. salt
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup green pepper, chopped
1/3 cup onion, chopped
1 tbsp. pimento, chopped
1 tsp. sugar
1/2 cup cheese, shredded

1. Pour melted butter into 1.5 quart casserole dish.
2. Spread squash, sprinkle with salt and pepper.
3. Combine egg, mayonnaise, green pepper, onion, pimento and sugar.
4. Mix well and pour over squash.
5. Sprinkle evenly with cheese.
6. Bake 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes.

Happy Thanksgiving! See you all next week!

pilgrim.jpg

This entry was posted in My Life, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fantasy Eating Spectacular

  1. Sister says:

    No Apple Pie – Chocolate Cream instead.

  2. mainemom32 says:

    Mmm sounds so yummy! I brined my turkey this year too…best ever turkey!

  3. geya says:

    Please tell me that the girl at the end isn’t you in drag as a young prepubescent!!

  4. chris2fer says:

    Please. My hair would have looked more fabulous than that…

Leave a Reply

