Chris2fer’s Favorite Things 3 – The Christmas Edition

I love Christmas songs. When I was younger I would listen to them in July to get that happy early morning Christmas snow snuggle gift feeling. It seems that most of my memories of Christmases past revolve around a couple Christmas records that my mother would play constantly. These are my favorite songs from those records:

My Favorite Things – by Barbra Streisand – from A Christmas Album

streisand.jpg

Sleigh Ride – by Johnny Mathis – from Merry Christmas

jm.jpg

Christmas Waltz – by The Carpenters – from Christmas Portrait

carpenters.jpg

When my sister and I would have a snow day off from school, we would get all bundled up like Ralphie’s little brother and haul the toboggan up the back hill to sled for hours in the morning. When we were finally exhausted we would trudge home and Mom would make us go to the kitchen and take off our wet jackets and ski pants and gloves and hats, and lay them on the bricks beside the wood stove to steam dry. Then, she would serve us homemade cocoa. That Darn Swiss Miss doesn’t even come close to how good this is. Since I know you want to pattern your childhood after mine, here’s the recipe.

Hershey’s Hot Chocolate 

Ingredients:
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
Dash salt
1/3 cup hot water
4 cups (1 qt.) milk
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Miniature marshmallows or sweetened whipped cream(optional)

Directions:
1. Stir together sugar, cocoa and salt in medium saucepan; stir in water.

2. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil. Boil and stir 2 minutes.

3. Add milk; stirring constantly, heat to serving temperature. Do Not Boil.

4. Remove from heat; add vanilla.

5. Beat with rotary beater or whisk until foamy.

6. Serve topped with marshmallows or whipped cream, if desired. Five 8-oz. servings.

One of my favorite Christmas movies is “One Magic Christmas”. It stars Mary Steenburgen, and came out in 1985. It’s a dark little movie, with murder and drowning and pain, but it (eventually) has a warm heartfelt message. Several horrible events happen on Christmas Eve, but due to Santa and Christmas and angels and a little magic, Mary learns not to be too upset by the death and despair (and maybe, just maybe, Santa fixes everything). See if you can find it – you wont be sorry.

omc.jpg

Hershey’s recipe site

Synopsis of One Magic Christmas

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chris2fer’s Favorite Things 3 – The Christmas Edition

  1. geya says:

    OMG that is Drew Barrymore!!! Have you ever seen Opus’s Christmas?

  2. luvflamingos says:

    You DO have happy childhood memories! Have not seen One Magic Christmas, but I do vaguely remember Opus’s Christmas….wonder if they still show it on tv???

    Least favorite christmas song of all time? “Christmas Shoes”. “I wannna buy these shoes….for my Mama pleasee”….just the opening notes make me want to take the nearest sharp instrument and pop my eardrums….or change the radio channel…whichever is easiest.

    God help me if I’m unfortunate enough to get THAT one stuck in my head for a day. It’s not pretty.

  3. mainemom32 says:

    I do recall you playing that(the Carpenters) over the telephone in July a “few” years ago, lol. I also loved listening to Brenda Lee and Bing Crosby, played on 8-track of course. Steven and I had the same experiences, I think, with the sledding-hot cocoa combo. Now my own daughter expects the same treatment. Ahhh, the memories.

  4. chris2fer says:

    Geya, It’s not Drew (according to IMDB)… but it looks like her!
    Flamingos, I have to pull my car over when that song comes on cause I start crying so hard. Stupid WHOM.
    MM32 – I remember that! Oh my god, the memories.

  5. geya says:

    I think flamingos has just hinted at a christmas gift, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

