Chris2fer’s Favorite Things 4

Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death! 

Last night Hubby and I watched Auntie Mame, starring Rosalind Russell. I had fond memories of the movie, from watching it with my mother years ago, but was surprised by how funny and up to date it was. The sets are sumptuous (barring the scenes when Mame is on her honeymoon – I tend to think that they didn’t try to make it look real to be comical) and the costumes are amazing and the acting is spot on. And come on, what gay kid doesn’t want a filthy rich eccentric aunt to adopt them? If you haven’t seen this, put it on your Netflix queue. Seriously. I’ll be checking

PS – Don’t get the Lucille Ball musical version by accident. Stinky!

auntiemame.jpg

There used to be a store in the Old Port called Dunne Roman. It was set up like a little English cottage inside, with exposed beams and rustic decorations and hidden cats that would dart out at you when you passed by and little old ladies who would sell you spells in bottles and fairies and lots of interesting things in baskets. One Christmas my mother and sister surprised me with BayRum aftershave that they found there, and bought on a whim. It’s soothing as an aftershave, but the best part is that it smells like cloves. Yum. Dunne Roman is gone, but you can still find BayRum online, and it’s relatively inexpensive.

bayrum.jpg

I love clear winter nights, with snow on the ground and stars shining in the blue black sky. I’m not sure why, but it makes me feel like my life is a movie. I love sitting outside all bundled up and huddling close to someone and just watching the sky. Sigh.

stars2.jpg

Amazon.com Auntie Mame

BayRum

jefe46’s Starry Night photo

This entry was posted in Favorite Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

