Not your Momma’s Meatloaf

…unless it is, and then, I guess it is your Momma’s meatloaf.

Last night The Hubby and I entertained Jess and Matt. They had just returned from a vacation in Seattle, and we missed them terribly. Hub asked if I could make a meatloaf? With potatoes? Why yes I could. Well, I would try.

The one other time I made meatloaf I mixed it so much that it turned out hard like a brick. And I made it for my parents. They choked it down amid mouth filled declarations of how “Good it was”, and “My, what an interesting texture”, and “Whoops! Someone grab my tooth!”. I decided that this time? It would not happen again. As God is my witness, I will never. Serve crappy meatloaf. Again. <shakes fist at the night sky>

I went to the grocery store, and along with all of the other ingredients that I had to buy I also purchased an oven thermometer. You know the kind that has a probe that you put in the meat, and you can read the temperature from outside the oven? Yeah, it’s pretty awesome. It told me when the loaf had turned 160 degrees, and please take it out now. Thank you, awesome gadget.

I also roasted some veggies to go with das loaf. My favorite roasting veggie is parsnips. You know, the white carroty things? When they are roasted they take on a sweet spicy flavor that is just delicious. I also added some carrots and sweet potatoes. Chop ’em up, drizzle them with olive oil and kosher salt, and roast for about an hour. Yummer.

Well, I have to say that the meatloaf was very good. Not good for you, but good in your mouth. Tasty, some would say. It received rave reviews from the neighbors. Here’s the recipe.

Meatloaf 

Ingredients:
*** Glaze:***
1 cup chili sauce
8 tablespoons brown sugar
8 teaspoons white vinegar

*** Meat Loaf:***
2 teaspoons oil
1 medium onion — chopped medium
2 garlic cloves — minced
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon dried herb mix for meat
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2 pounds ground Beef
1 cup bread crumbs
1/3 cup Asiago cheese, shredded
10 slices Bacon

Directions:

For the glaze: Mix all ingredients in small saucepan; set aside.

For the meat loaf:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Heat oil in medium skillet. Add onion and garlic; saute until softened, about 5 minutes. Set aside to cool while preparing remaining ingredients.

Mix eggs with herbs, salt, pepper, mustard, Worcestershire sauce,  and yogurt.

Add egg mixture to meat in large bowl along with bread crumbs and asiago cheese, add the cooked onion and garlic; mix with fork until evenly blended and meat mixture does not stick to bowl. Do not overmix.

Place meat mixture in baking or roasting pan. Pat into approximately 9 by 5 inch loaf shape. Brush with half the glaze, then arrange bacon slices, crosswise, over loaf, overlapping slightly and tucking only bacon tip ends under.

Bake loaf until bacon is crisp and loaf registers 160F degrees, about 1 hour. Cool at least 20 minutes.

Simmer remaining glaze over medium heat until thickened slightly. Slice meat loaf and serve with extra glaze passed separately.

It should look like this:

meatloaf.jpg

This entry was posted in My Life, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

