Random Thoughts 6

He’s the reason for the season, he’s the purpose of it all, so come join the celebration of the birthday of the king…

I mentioned some time ago that there was more to come on the record player to MP3 converter that I got for Christmas. I warned you. But you didn’t listen!

When I was a kid my father was very involved in our Church’s music program. Every Christmas and every Easter the choir would present a cantata (a choral composition, either sacred and resembling a short oratorio or secular, as a lyric drama set to music but not to be acted – Dictionary.com), and my father would sing in them. To learn the music he would play the records (yes, I’m that old. Marvel at my knowledge of archaic music formats) over and over again. I vividly remember the Christmas that we listened to “The Reason for the Season”. I remember sitting in the darkened living room, lit only by the Christmas tree, and singing along to the choir, with soloists Steve Green, Gary McSpadden, and Sandi Patty. OMG, Sandi Patty!

I found the record on Ebay, and in my zeal to own every recording that Sandi has ever done, I bought it. At the time I hardly remembered the musical. However. Once I put the needle to the vinyl, it all started flooding into my brain. I remembered all of the words. I remembered the small sounds of the old house that we lived in at the time. I even remember the smell of the Old Spice that my Dad would wear. It’s pretty amazing what has an impact on us, even 25 years later. I still get a warm feeling when I listen to it, on my ipod.

I mentioned a little while ago that I was listening to and greatly enjoying Rufus Wainwright’s Judy Garland tribute album. Well, I was on youtube and I found a recording of him doing Get Happy, in Judy drag. Let’s just say that it’s best that he doesn’t make his living as a drag queen. Although he has way better legs that Judy did.

And here is Judy’s original song, from the movie Summer Stock…

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Thoughts 6

  1. geya says:

    Her dancers are better..his legs are better.

  2. mainemom32 says:

    Ah, the Christmas Cantata…remember those well. I also remember listening to Bing Crosby and Brenda Lee on 8-trac(oh I’m soooo old) until we could hear three songs at the same time…know what I mean?

    By the way…was at my parents house for a few days(grampie passed away last tuesday) and I came across some “very interesting” IMPACT photos…I’ll scan them and share…smooches xx B

  3. wendy says:

    Chris2fer,
    I cannot believe I found someone who not only remembers the “Reason for the Season” cantata, but also has the music to it. I have searched everywhere to find a copy of that musical for my me and my mom. When I was a teenager, my mom( the music director) did that musical at our church. I would be interested in talking to you about possibly getting a copy. Thank you and blessings in Christ!

  4. Jim says:

    Hi, I have been looking for a more current version of the Christmas Cantata that has this song on it. He’s the reason for the season, he’s the purpose of it all, so come join the celebration of the birthday of the king…where did you find it on ebay? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

