Love is in the air…

Everywhere I look around.
Love is in the Air…
Every sight and every sound.

Due to a significant birthday coming up in the not to distant future, the Hubby and I decided to spend very little on Valentine’s day this year. Basically, I just wanted to exchange cards and a smooch, and be done with it. That’s what I told him. But I am sneaky. And crafty. Very very crafty.

The Hub’s favorite flower is a peony, so I tried to find peonies to send to him at work. Yeah – the cheapest peonies I could find was 90 bucks for 4 flowers, plus delivery charge. Um, no. Then I tried to find some nice paper peonies on the internet, but they all looked like they came out of the wrong end of a cat. Martha Stewart did have a kit that I could buy, but it was sold out. So, I decided to try and make one myself.

I printed a few pictures of peonies from the web to use as a visual guide, and made my best attempt at a petal pattern. I made three different sizes of petals, and cut them out of tissue paper that we had in the basement. I found my old watercolor set and painted the tips of all the petals pink, and bled the color down the petal with water. They dried very quickly for the amount of water that I used. I made a few green petals for the base, and I painted a strip of tissue paper yellow, which I then cut into fringe and rolled up for the pistil of the flower. I used some thin silver wire to hold it all together, and Voila!

Lookit how beautiful! I am a genius with tissue and paints. Who knew?

.

I have a new favorite commercial. In it, there are two oldsters sitting on a couch, talking to the camera about the wonders of Dairy Queen. It goes something like this:

Lady: Every year we celebrate by getting a Dairy Queen cake.

Man: What? You want me to kiss your brother Jake?!?

Lady: YES! I WANT YOU TO KISS MY BROTHER JAKE!

Man: ABSOLUTELY NOT! OUT OF THE QUESTION!

Hee. I just know that that is going to be Hubs and me in a few years. Like, two.

PS – Happy Valentines day, man of mine. You make me truly happy.

My Paper Peony Pictures

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love is in the air…

  1. Hubby says:

    It is lovely! You are so talented. I love you too!!!

  2. Sabrina says:

    It is fab! You are my crafty hero.

  3. M says:

    How beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are a crafty genius!!!!

  4. Lisa says:

    Chris, that flower is amazing. I thought it was real until I started reading, and I’m still not sure it isn’t! I wish my Hub was as creative and talented.

  5. Darling Nikki says:

    Wow, good stuff! You are so creative!

  6. memesisart says:

    Now I realise this was a long time ago but what’s the point of putting pictures of the best and most gorgeous paper peonies the world has ever seen on the internet without showing us the shape you used to make your petals?!? I would love to emulate your flowers for a table centre piece – please show a picture of the shape you used to cut your petals!

Leave a Reply

