Billy Joel

In the middle of the, I go walking in the… 

I hit “shuffle” on my Ipod this morning, and Billy Joel started singing to me about The Longest Time (What else could I do, I’m so inspired by you, that hasn’t happened for the longest time). I had forgotten how wonderful his music really is, so I queued up all his music that I owned and listened to them all. And boy did it bring back the memories. Billy Joel was very popular back when I was in high school (when dinosaurs roamed the earth). I remember laying on the floor of Debbie Peron’s bedroom with Corey and Amy and singing our hearts out to Greatest Hits Vol 1 and 2.

billy.jpg

There is no more evocative song than “New York State of Mind”. I think it is my favorite Billy Joel number to sing along to. It makes me want to find a cheap flight to NY and walk around Times Square and Central Park. It brings to mind  “When Harry Met Sally”. Remember when they were walking through the park in the fall? I want to do that.

Some folks like to get away, take a holiday from the neighborhood. Hop a flight to Miami Beach or to Hollywood. But I’m taking a Greyhound, on the Hudson River line. I’m in a New York State of Mind.

And there is no better driving song than “Scenes From An Italian Restaurant”. It starts off all soft and introspective, bottle of red, bottle of white… Then it slams you back in time… I defy you to not speed when you listen to this in the car. And that amazing piano solo in the middle… right before…

Brenda and Eddie were the popular steadies and the king and the queen of the prom. Riding around with the car top down and the radio on. Nobody looked any finer, or was more of a hit at the parkway diner. We never knew we could want more than that out of life, sure that Brenda and Eddie would always know how to survive.

The love songs are amazing… She’s Got A Way. She’s Always A Woman To Me. Just The Way You Are.

I took the good times, I’ll take the bad times. I take you just the way you are.

And then there are the fun Billy Joel songs. You know, the one’s you can’t help but sing along to. Movin’ Out (Oh, but working too hard can give you a heart attack-ack-ack-ack-ack-ack). My Life (I never said you had to offer me a second chance (I never said you had to)). It’s Still Rock and Roll To Me (Hot funk cool punk even if it’s old junk it’s still rock and roll to me). Tell Her About It (Listen boy, it’s not automatically a certain guarantee (certain guarantee)). And the best one – Uptown Girl (Ah ah ah ah ah ah ah, ah ah ah ah ah ah ah Uptown Girl, she’s been livin’ in her uptown world, I bet she’s never had a backstreet guy, I bet her momma never told her why, I’m gonna try)

Caught ya! You’re singing right now, aren’t you? It’s at least going to be stuck in your head all day. So, dig out the old Billy Joel records and tapes. It’s time to rediscover the awesome.

Billy Joel Greatest Hits: Vol 1&2

This entry was posted in Favorite Things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Billy Joel

  1. M says:

    Hopefully I don’t post this twice? Anyway….yes, I used to listen to Glass Houses in my room on my little stereo with an 8-Track player. I would turn it up really loud and sing along…because that’s the kind of edgy, rebellious kid I was. Have you ever even seen an 8-Track player???? I am very old.

    I also love, love, love “To Make You Feel My Love”. It’s schmaltzy, but makes me cry like the girl that I am when I hear it.

  2. E says:

    Your blog brings back memories for me (and I am sure for others too when they read it). You write it in such a way to make the reader just think about snippets of their life and sit back and smile. My first boyfriend LOVED Billy Joel and his music (most favorite song being the horrible Piano Man) and we listened to one of his ‘albums’ in his room (his name was Billy too) with the door OPEN when we were 17 years old. I remember listening to “Honesty” I can still remember it like it was yesterday thanks to you!

  3. Brenda M says:

    Love him!

    My memories of New York State of Mind go back to the Top of the Hub(remember that place?) on a date with Joe, MaryB, and Dave H. They had the live jazz and this awesome lady jazz singer. She pointed to the four of us and said(no kidding) ‘this is for the lovahs’ and then sang THAT song. It was sooo freaking awesome. That was a long time ago.

  4. Pete H says:

    You had me singing along, out loud at work, with the “New York State of Mind” lyrics!

    I heard he was on Oprah on the 24th with his wife to help promote his wife’s new cookbook, performed a song or two, and all Oprah had to say is that he had a DUI once…never once respected the man for his body of work, being in the Rock’n’Roll hall of fame, or anything…have I mentioned how much I dislike Oprah? grrrrrr….

  5. M says:

    OMG yes, I remember playing Glass Houses on my 8-track player in my room…I would turn it up really loud and sing along because that’s the kind of “edgy rebellious” kid that I was. And yes, you read it right….8-track player. I’m that old.

    I also love, love, love “To Make you Feel My Love” off Greatest Hits 3. Makes me weep like the girl that I am.

Leave a Reply

