Cheese and Wine

That’s real class, Jan. *

On Friday night Mary and Sabrina and Zee Zee and I went to a wine tasting at Vintner’s Winery Cellar on Forest Ave in Portland. Heidi is the “vintner” (and owner) who leads you through the tasting. She walked us through about 8 wines, from light whites to heavy rich reds. It was a new experience for me, as I am not really a wine drinker. I don’t like the bite of wine, if you know what I mean. You know – that vinegary tang? Anyway. All of the wines were made on premises and were very tasty and not at all “bitey”. My favorites, which should be a surprise to no one, where the fruity sweet wines. The last one that we tasted was almost a port. The cool thing about Vintner’s is that they make “personalized” wines, tailoring it to your taste. They also create the label for your wine. We looked through a sampling of labels, and my favorite was “Stomp Me, Squeeze Me, Make Me Wine”. ‘Cause It’s dirty and cool at the same time. It’s dirtycool. Plus, Heidi’s a babe. This is her glamour shot from the website…

“And Pose! You’re a gazelle! You’re a Tiger!”

Has anyone seen “P.S. I Love You”? It stars Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler. Hillary Swank is cute in the movie, but Gerard Butler is a foxy fox. It’s not giving the movie away to say that Gerard’s character dies in the beginning of the film, and then he starts sending Hillary’s character letters from beyond the grave in order to force her to move on with her life. It’s a cheesy chick flick. I mean, It’s no “Notting Hill”, but it’ll do. It was nice to see Gerard in something that wasn’t that horrible Phantom movie.

Hello.

Maine Vintners

*2 points to anyone who can tell me where I got that quote, even though it should be “Twinkies and wine? That’s real class, Jan”.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheese and Wine

  1. M says:

    That would be “Grease”….and not because I knew that….because I googled it! God Bless Google!!!

  2. Brenda M says:

    Oh, I remembered it was Grease(“it says right on the label that it’s a DESSERT WINE”, lol)…also reminds me of being “forced” to watch a high school production of that particular play…or, at least one specific number(Beauty School Drop-Out, ring any bells?).

  3. Sister says:

    “M” How could you not know it was Grease??!! I totally knew…maybe that’s because I’ve seen it like 200 times…

  4. Sabrina says:

    Okay several comments from me……
    1. The wine was terrible. It was very fruity. Like Arbor Mist fruity if you know what I mean. Not at all good if you are a wine drinker. I will not be going back.
    2. PS I Love You was actually pretty good! I was skeptical because it got bad reviews. But it was good and totally reaffirmed the fact that I really need a boyfriend. There were some HOT Dudes in that move….excetp Harry Connick Jr. Am I the only one who finds him utterly repulsive?
    3. The quote is from Grease. Love it.

Leave a Reply

