June 22, 1974

A date which will live in infamy…

This is my birthday weekend. So far, I have had 33 birthdays. This will be my 34th. Sigh. I am no longer in my early thirties. Yes, I am old, people. Old… Anyway, I was trying to remember some of the celebrations that I had. Pause for effect…

I don’t remember very much up about my birthdays from when I was 8ish or younger. I know one time I had a Winnie the Pooh cake, and I’m sure I squished it with my little fists. I’m sure that there were presents, some soft cuddly things.

I remember a birthday when my mother made a Darth Vader cake. It looked just like Darth’s helmet. Instead of spreading the black frosting around with a knife or a spatula, my mother actually piped thousands of little dots to color in the cake. I think that she is where I got my touch of OCD. And PS – how do you make black frosting?

I remember a birthday at the Ground Round. We had peanuts and watched cartoons on the wall. Ooo! I had a birthday at McDonalds once, too.

I remember a birthday with my friends at Funtown. We were allowed to go into the haunted house by ourselves for the first time, without a parent or guardian. This was back in the 80s, and they didn’t have the mamby-pamby not-so-scary haunted houses like they have today. No. Then, it was pitch dark, and the monsters could grab you, and hold you while you yelled and peed yourself. 

I had a birthday in high school where my friends from school had a surprise birthday party for me at one of their houses. I know it was a lot of work, but it was weird, too. You see, they invited all my friends from school, but also all of my friends from church. As some of you know, I don’t like to mix my circles of friends. It’s just too strange. I spent the whole evening running back and forth between two rooms where each demographic had congregated. I almost had a breakdown.

I had one birthday in New York City, with Sabrina and her brother. We went to see The Hulk. The experience was better than the movie. We saw it at the theater where they filmed the beginning of Funny Girl. It takes a gay to make the Hulk into a Streisand moment.

Last year a group of us went to David’s (downtown) for dinner, and them to Bubba’s Sulky Lounge for dancing. I don’t go out dancing very much anymore, and that was a blast. A drunk blast. It was 80s night at the lounge.  We danced the night away. I remember a neighbor friend of ours was drunk out of his mind, but as we pulled onto our street at the end of the night (actually early the next morning) he slurred from the back seat “Ima little drunk, but if you guysh want to shtill go get a beer, or sometin, I am happy to go with you.”

Aww. Thanks Matt. Woops! Said his name…

Some pix from Bubba’s:

This is the dancefloor. It’s very dark in there. You can basically only see people’s feet. I was dancing with a stranger most of the night, ’cause he was wearing the same shoes as Hubby.

Random handless mannequin in a gold sash and a garden hat. And one stocking. She’s had a rough night.

They have lunchboxes all over the place. Cool ones, too. Hello Robin! Hello Barry! Where’s Maurice?

Seminal movie of the 80s – The Dark Crystal. If I had had this lunchbox on the school yard I would have ruled!

Jess giving me the hand. Even on my birthday I get no respect.

This entry was posted in My Life, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 22, 1974

  1. Brenda M says:

    Happy Birthday on Sunday! Hope it’s a wonderfully fun one. I remember one of your high school birthdays…we attended a funeral together…how’s that for a fun time memory? Don’t ask me why I remember that, but I do.

  2. chris2fer says:

    What funeral? Why don’t I remember that?

  3. Brenda M says:

    Don’t ask me why I do but it was Sam’s. Remember Sam? It was the summer or our Bahamas trip, etc.

Leave a Reply

