The Point Dining Room

Place: The Point Dining Room
Time: 6:30 pm, Friday June 6, 2008
With: Hubby and Sabrina
Where: Black Point Inn, 510 Black Point Road, Prouts Neck, Maine
Plot:

When I was 12, 13 and 14 I worked for my grandfather in his business – I was a trash guy. I rode the back of the truck and picked up trash in Prouts Neck. For those who don’t know, Prouts Neck is very very swanky – huge mansions and sprawling estates. The Rockefellers lived there. Glenn Close and her husband live there. And come on – you know If Glenn lives there, it’s swankified.

I always loved Prouts (as the residents call it). I would sometimes get separated from my grandfather during the route and find myself just walking along the paths that are carved through the woods, or meandering through the Winslow Homer museum. I imagined myself the owner of one of the fabulous houses looking over the water, perched on the edge of the coast, the Eastern-most American.

Well, when the Maine Sunday Telegram did a review (here) of how wonderful The Point restaurant had become, I decided that I needed to get out there and experience it. The Hub listened to me yearn for it, and made reservations for 6 of us to dine there for my birthday celebration.

The Point Dining Room is located in The Black Point Inn on Prouts Neck. Although I did not get to see much of the Inn we did walk through the lobby, and it is reminiscent of Somewhere in Time, with Christopher Reeve. Remember that movie? He goes back in time to woo Jane Seymore. The Inn is decorated in that Victorian style.

The Dining Room itself is on the back side of the Inn. I expected it to be situated facing the coast, but it is not. You do have a water view, although it is obstructed. That was a miss for me. It is tastefully decorated with rich woods, bold wallpapers, and crisp white linens. Our waiter was maybe 19, and very serious. I am used to a waiter that could laugh along with us – we are a lively crew. I think that that was my major issue with the experience. The restaurant takes itself a little too seriously. If it loosened up just a little it would be a more pleasing experience. Also, here’s a tip: get rid of that Muzak. Wow. That was terrible.

However, where the restaurant shines is it’s food. It is excellent, and well worth going. Don’t be fooled by the uptightness of the place, either – you wont break the bank. Entrees range from $24 to $36 bucks.

Mmm. Bacony.

I had the New England Clam Chowder to start, which was wonderful. It was thick and rich, and had bacon in it. It was second only to David’s chowder in my mind.

No pecans for you!

Next, most of us ordered the Mixed Young Lettuces. It was a large bowl of greens, very fresh and tasty with yummy stinky stilton and a tangy vinaigrette. However, the advertised “Sweet and salty pecans” were no where to be found. We were disappointed in that.

Sister Kristin crossed its little legs, for propriety’s sake.

Sister Kristin and I ordered the Grilled Quail. It was perfectly cooked and tasted slightly of maple. There were two Quail per plate. It was supposed to be served over Semolina Gnocchi, but unless I am wrong it was polenta. Which is fine, cause I can never get enough polenta. It also came with asparagus.

Hubby had the Local Farm Chicken, which looked wonderful. He said that it tasty great. It also came with asparagus.

Thank god Sabrina likes olives.

Sabrina got the Pan Seared Arctic Char. She said it tasted good, and was prepared well. And thank god she likes olives, as there was about a quarter cup of tapenade on top of the fish.

Meat good!

Jess and Matt ordered the Grilled Beef Tenderloin. They both raved about the taste. It was perfectly medium rare – warm pink center. It smelled delicious from where I sat.

After the Starters, Seconds, and Main Courses we were not up for dessert. For a high end restaurant, The Point is very filling. I was worried that due to the “elegance” of the restaurant that we would get itsy-bitsy entrees, but was pleasantly proved wrong.

No Andes Candies here!

On the whole, The Point is definitely worth a visit. The food is spectacular. Just prepare for a little stuffiness as an appetizer. And for god’s sake, get a table away from the giant speakers blaring Muzak.

4 out of 5 stars.

This entry was posted in My Life, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Point Dining Room

  1. trap says:

    Chris2fer,

    I am glad you enjoyed your dinner in the Point.
    Just a note to let you and the readers know about the gnocchi.
    Semolina gnocchi, or Gnocchi a la Romaine, is prepared for the most part like polenta,but without cornmeal.
    Semolina flour, milk, cheese etc. It is not like the more commonly known Potato gnocchi
    that resembles a type of pasta/dumpling. If you enjoyed it and are a polenta fan you should give it a try at home-I would be glad to share a recipe.
    cheers,
    trap landry
    Executive Chef
    Black point Inn
    p.s. you should check out the Inn’s other restaurant the Chart room as well. Menu on the website.

  2. Tim Porta says:

    Chris2fer

    I am also associated with the Black Point Inn, and would like to thank you for your kind review. The photographs, I think are great. May I ask what camera you use to get such well lit and sharp closeups as well as the shot of The Point? I am in the market for one.

    Thanks again,

    Tim

  3. chris2fer says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Tim!

    It’s funny you ask, as I bought a new camera yesterday.

    These were taken on a Kodak EasyShare C743 Zoom, not the best camera out there.

    The reason they are any good is because I heavily manipulate the photos. The picture of the Inn itself was blown up from a long distance shot.

    I bought a “Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5K 9MP Digital Camera with 10x Wide Angle MEGA Optical Image Stabilized Zoom”. It has great reviews and was fairy inexpensive.

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

