Chris2fer’s Favorite Things 9 – The Summer Edition

Roll out those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy days of Summer…

1. Back in the day my friends and I loved to spend all of our time outside in the summer. I mean way back in the day, like when we were six. Not the grumpy angsty teenage years. No, back then all we needed was a hose and cut off shorts and some sunshine and we had an afternoon of fun. Imagine our delight when Nannie brought home the Wham-O Fun Fountain. Hey! His hat flies up in the air! Hey! It’s a weapon and a toy!

2. Some summer days when I would be hanging out with my best childhood friend (also a Chris) we would walk through the field to hang out with his cousin Tammy-Jo who lived next door. Tammy-Jo’s dad always gave her the coolest toys. Like the circus trampoline that she had in her barn. She had a balcony in the barn that you could jump off of and onto the trampoline to get some serious air time. We were still jumping around on the trampoline when we were teens. I remember wearing out the grove to the record single of Kokomo by the Beach boys. All together now “Aruba, Jamaica, Ooo I’m Gonna Take Ya…”

3. My mother was a frugal lady, and I’m sure that she got tired of figuring out sensible snacks for Sister Kristin and I during the summer months when we would be hanging out at the ‘ol homestead. Then she got us Slush Mugs. It was a mug that made frozen slushies out of whatever you poured into it. See, you pop the inside of the mug into the freezer the night before, then when you take it out of the freezer and put liquid into it it freezes to the sides of the mug. You then scrape it down, over and over again. In no time at all (2 hours) you have a slushie. My favorite was a milk slushie. Plain milk. Dork!

Buy a Slush Mug here!

4. There are some songs that just mean Summer to me. Here is a little mix of some that I could find on the interwebs. What are some of yours?

 Chris2fer’s Summer Mix

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, My Life, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chris2fer’s Favorite Things 9 – The Summer Edition

  1. Kelly says:

    Tammy Jo? hmmmmm…….almost………not…right……

  2. Lara says:

    Oh my gosh. I had that Fun Fountain. I can’t believe it! Great stuff!

  3. Mandy says:

    i remember tammy’s trampoline!!! we used to listen to heart 😉 good times.

Leave a Reply

