A Musical Morning

‘Cause sometimes you just need to sing.

1. Hairspray – Did everyone see Hairspray? Oh. My. God. That movie is my life. Every morning I wake up and the music starts in my head, and I sing through my day, annoying everyone. But I can’t help it. I’ve got music in my soul.

Good morning, Portland, Maine! I just might be insane! Because I sing my words. Accompanied by birds.

2. The Sound Of Music – This is my favorite song in the movie. It is full of hope and wonder. In the course of just a few minutes Maria moves from frightened nun to confident and strong young woman. Just like me!

3. Rent – This is what I imagine my college years were like. Even though they were not at all like this. I was never this cool. Sigh.

 4. Cabaret – Mein Herr. Liza sings to some German guy, about how slutty she is. She’s a slute. It’s very very Fosse! Plus, Miz Minelli has never looked as good as she does here.

5. Chicago – Catherine Zeta sings. She dances. And she’s pregnant! And she’s just committed murder. Truly excellent.

6. Xanadu – Come on. You knew it had to be here. Is there any happier thing than 80s Olivia?

As a bonus, here is a mixtape of these songs, so you can hear how good they really sound!

A Musical Morning

This entry was posted in My Life, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Musical Morning

  1. Brenda M says:

    Glad to see you had a great time on Saturday…sorry I missed you. We’ll do it soon, promise 🙂

    I must tell you of the Library…I’ll send a message.

  2. Travis says:

    Wheres Grease? For some reason I really like Xanadu. Well last year I did because I like Olivia Newton John.

Leave a Reply

