Sandi Patty Concert

The Queen sings…

Last night I enjoyed my birthday gift from Mademoiselle Mary: two tickets to see Sandi Patty at the Old Orchard Beach Pavilion. As some of you may know, I am a bit of a Sandi Patty freak (see here and here. Oh, and here.  And here.  And yes, here). I have all of her albums and one that she didn’t actually release and lots of “lost” recordings. She is my hobby.

I have loved her since forever, and have yet to meet her, a fact that I was determined to rectify. So, at 7 last night, Sabrina and I were in the second row, 10 feet from where Sandi would soon be singing. But first? First we got the opening act.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that this is a very nice gentleman and I understand that it is hard to be an opening act when the people in the audience came there for someone else. I get that. And he sounded nice and he played the guitar very well. All that to say: When he hit minute 11 of his song about a childhood friend that died crossing the street it was so absurd that Sabrina and I started “church giggling”. You know – when you try to stop the laughter from escaping and it just multiplies inside you, and you glance at your friend and she is doing the same thing and that makes it worse and you are shaking and hoping that the people around you think that you are having a seizure instead of laughing at this nice man? Yeah, that. So – sorry, guy!

Then, Sandi came out. She sang. I smiled. She sang for two hours. I smiled for two hours. She sang new songs and she sang old songs. She sang “Via Dolorosa” and “Make His Praise Glorious” and “We Shall Behold Him”.  She sang “Amazing Grace” and “How Great Thou Art”. She sang “How Majestic Is Your Name” and “Let There Be Praise” and “In The Name of the Lord”. She sang “Praise To The Lord, the Almighty” and “Operator” and “Step Into The Joy”. She sang “My Tribute” and “Through It All”. She sang “Upon This Rock” and “Who Will Call Him King Of Kings?”. And she sang them all perfectly.

Sandi is the Queen of high notes. It peaked on her albums around the late eighties. After that, she didn’t go so high in her recordings, anymore. However. Let me tell you that it has not peaked when she sings live. She hits all of the high notes and then goes a fifth above them all. She sings notes that make angels weep. And, she has fun when she sings. She had a giant smile on her face and it is obvious that she loves what she does. As well she should.

So, after the amazing concert Sabrina and I waited by the stage for her to come out. A few minutes later she did, and I asked Anna (Sandi’s daughter and handler) for a picture. Sandi met a couple other people first, and then took a photo with me. I couldn’t get over how small she was, and I think I said “You’re so tiny!”. She said “Say it louder, Honey”. So I did. “Miss Sandi, You’re so tiny!”. She laughed. Then she said “It was so nice seeing your smiling face in the second row. You made my night.” And then she was gone, in a swirl of perfume and silk.

It was a perfect night.

Sandi’s Concert Slideshow 

_____

Since this is a relatively “anonymous” blog, if you want to see my picture with Sandi just email me, and I will send it on!

PS – Sabrina had me take a picture of her shoes, which are pretty awesome…

This entry was posted in Music review, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sandi Patty Concert

  1. Sadie's Mama says:

    Sabrina’s right….the shoes are AWESOME!

  2. Sabrina says:

    The show was amazing!! SP is a phenomenal singer….I couldn’t believe the notes she hit. It was a great show.

  3. Lara says:

    That was a great read. You must’ve had a fab night. I’d love to see the pic sometime, if you want to send it… 🙂

  4. Brenda M says:

    Oh, the names of those songs take me back 🙂

    So, so, so happy that this finally happened for you! Glad that you had such a great time and got to meet SP.

    Email away if you get time 🙂

  5. John says:

    Those are some rockin’ heels.

Leave a Reply

