Maine Experience

…One of my Summer Shows

Does anyone else watch “Maine Experience” on PBS? It is a local show that highlights Maine’s past using found films, photos, and interviews with ancient people.

I’m not sure what it is about it that makes me so happy, but it does. It’s weirdly exciting to see the famous huge hotels of northern Maine, or see a piece about the last surviving covered bridges that are in use, or a segment about a fiddler man who played for a President.

Particularly I love the “Moving Image Minutes”, where they play an old film that shows how towns used to be. It’s interesting to see the prosperity of towns that are now down and out. Well, interesting and a little sad, really.

And yes, I know this is just one more checkmark on my dorkiness checklist. Soon, I hope to be a full-fledged Dork.

Maine Experience

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maine Experience

  1. Brenda says:

    Me too! And I KNOW I’m not a dork…so you must not be either! 🙂

    I love Maine, especially this time of the year! I just want to curl up and read Yankee magazine with my cup of hot cider w/cinnamon sticks.

    Then again, maybe I am a dork….

Leave a Reply

