The Masonic Temple

I would totally buy this and live here if I had a few million bucks…

I have mentioned before that Rob (of “Mary &” fame) is the Grand Poo-Bah of the Masons of the whole world, right? Ok, maybe not of the whole world, but a very important part of it. Well, he was recently in the newspaper, and on the front page no less! However, it was for a sad reason. The Portland Maine Masons (or a faction thereof) have decided to sell their glorious building that rests at 415 Congress Street, Portland, Maine, next to the City Hall.

I have lived in Maine for most of my life, and never did give this building a second look. But, as I related here, Rob invited a few of us to his installation ceremony, and I finally got a good look at the interior of the Temple. It is strikingly beautiful. Unfortunately, we were not able to peruse the building at our heart’s content on that night. Fortunately, Rob is awesome and offered a tour last Sunday morning, for 8 of us.

It took my breath away. The building went on and on, showing stunning examples of gorgeous 20 foot ceilings, all hand painted with different designs.

Further, the interiors were huge. We saw three halls, two of which were enormous. There were two pipe organs. There was a stage. You know I wanted to belt out a showtune or two.

But the very best part was that Rob took us to the roof. 

Thank you, Rob!

Here is the Portland Press Herald story: Portland Press Herald

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Masonic Temple

  1. Sadie's Mama says:

    GREAT photos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Hubby says:

    I was on the tour too. A breathtaking historic landmark! I hope it doesn’t become another sports bar or Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

