Chris2fer’s Excellent Lemon and Garlic Roasted Chicken

It is now in the “Dinner Rotation”…

Yesterday I installed a ceiling fan in our dining room. We have old knob and tube wiring, so there were two wires going to this junction box – both black. I’m not sure how much you know about wiring, but there is usually a white and a black wire. Let’s just say that I count myself lucky to be sitting here writing, and not unconscious on the dining room floor with Grady licking my face. And possibly taking a little nibble after a while, ’cause a dog’s gotta eat, ya know?

After installing the fan I rolled up my sleeves and roasted a chicken. Like that commercial says, I had roaster-phobia. But it was so easy! And it turned out moist and full of flavor. I also roasted some potatoes to go along with the succulent chicken. For “the green” we had peas. (At work, whenever I mention what I made for dinner the night before, a particular co-worker always asks me “And what was the green?”. Just because of her we had peas. )

It looks like it is on all fours, doing push-ups.

I modified Ina Garten’s roasted chicken recipe enough that I don’t feel bad calling this:

Chris2fer’s Excellent Lemon and Garlic Roasted Chicken

Ingredients
1 (3 to 4-pound) roasting chicken (serves 2 or 3)
Kosher Salt
Black Pepper
Several Rosemary Sprigs
5 heads Garlic, peeled and cut in 1/2 crosswise
2 tablespoons butter
3 Lemons
1/2 cup chicken stock
Spoonful of Flour

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

2. Remove the chicken giblets (they should be in a little bag in the body). Rinse the chicken inside and out. Remove any excess fat and pat the outside dry. Place the chicken in a large roasting pan.

3. Liberally salt and pepper the inside of the chicken. Stuff the cavity with the Rosemary, 1 Lemon (cut in half), and 2 cloves of Garlic.

4. Melt the Butter in the microwave (on low setting) with a few leaves of Rosemary in the bowl. Brush the outside of the chicken with the Butter and sprinkle with Salt and Pepper.

5. Cut 2 of the Lemons in quarters and scatter the quarters and remaining Garlic around the chicken.

6. Roast the Chicken for 1 hour, or until the juices run clear when you cut between a leg and thigh. Remove to a platter and cover with aluminum foil while you prepare the gravy.

Yes, I know I roasted it upside down. It still turned out wonderful, so la-dee-dah to you. That’s right. I said it. La-Dee-Dah.

7. Transfer most of the juices from the chicken pan into another pan. Add about 1/2 cup of Chicken Stock. Bring to a simmer.

Mmm. Fatty goodness.

8. In a small bowl, mix warm water and the spoonful of Flour. Mix until smooth.

9. Add the flour to the simmering gravy. Stir constantly until thickened. Serve over the chicken.

I also had the Hub roughly cut up some potatoes, skins on. In a zip lock bag I mixed the potatoes, olive oil, garlic powder, and some Grill Seasoning (McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Chicken). I spread the potatoes on a cookie sheet and dotted them with butter. I just placed the pan in the oven with the chicken, and they were super crispy and wonderful when the chicken was done.

So yes, yesterday I was the epitome of getting stuff done. I wired up some sketchy electrical work, wrestled a ceiling fan into place, and made a roasted chicken dinner from scratch. All that after barely sleeping the night before and working all day at my grueling job.

OMG. I’m Martha Stewart.

This entry was posted in My Life, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chris2fer’s Excellent Lemon and Garlic Roasted Chicken

  1. Hubby says:

    I was impressed with all of Chris2fer’s work yesterday. The potatoes were like crack cocaine…I couldn’t get enough. Well done!!!

  2. BrendaM says:

    I like your tea kettle…is it copper? Hard to tell from the reflection 🙂

    Chicken looks yummy! I like to stuff my chickens with onions and apples and fresh rosemary(I have a huge plant in the kitchen). Lemons sound mmmm 😛

  3. Sadie's Mama says:

    I loves the crispy taters!!! Will try this one myself!!

  4. emielli says:

    Delicious looking! I’ve never roasted my own chicken.

    My mom’s boyfriend always has to have something green with his meal. It’s weird, but it’s a funny joke when my mom and I eat dinner by ourselves and there is nothing green on the table.

  5. Tara says:

    Tried those yummy potatoes tonight with some parmesan crusted chicken. They were delicious!!!! Thanks for the idea!!

  6. Sadies, Mamas' Big Brother says:

    So if you roast a chicken upside down how does the breast meat come out? I also wonder if the skin comes out a gooey mess or is there some crispiness to it as on the side roasted face up?
    Strange questions I know but it just made me wonder.
    Looks great tho!

Leave a Reply

