I’ll Have A Blue Thankgiving Without You…

I will be comforted a bit by the food, though…

The Hub and I have plans to go down to Washington DC in the Spring, and since his family lives (relatively) near there, we were going to visit them then. But then, as we were gearing up for the Holiday season, Hubby got a little nostalgic and familial and decided to wing on down to visit his Fam for Thanksgiving. He has been gone for a few days, and will be back in a few days. It is the longest that we have been apart.

Grady is all mopey, ’cause the Daddy that he loves the most is not here, and he has to sleep with me alone. He woke me up this morning at 3:45. He was just sitting on my pillow, looking at me, silently judging me. “Hello, Daddy 2. Where is Daddy 1? You are a poor substitute. …You bore me. Awaken and take me outside for poos and pees and then leave me alone for the rest of the day.”

I’m positive he practices his cute sleeping poses. “I’ll just curl my paw like so… and… perfect!”

I think that Hub was afraid that I would miss him so much that I would start inviting all of my boyfriends over to the house to make it through the loneliness. When I got home from dropping him off at the airport I went back to bed (It was 5:30 am). When I got up I opened my book to read, and there was a bookmark in it, telling me how much he loves and appreciates me. I was floored. It was so sweet!

And then, I went into the back bedroom to pick up, and there was one of those singing cards there telling me that he already missed me. Later in the day, as I was getting ready to go out, I opened my bureau drawer and there was a Yankee Candle bag, with my favorite scented candle in it. And not a votive, either. A large expensive one. As I was drifting off to sleep that night, I opened my bedside table to put on some chapstick (it gets wicked windy in our bedroom) and I found Lindt chocolates.

Ah, Hubby. You’re the best. Hurry home. Love ya.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ll Have A Blue Thankgiving Without You…

  1. Sadie's Mama says:

    Soooooo sweeeeettttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Brenda M says:

    Awww, so cute! I’d like to force-feed today’s blog to my husband so he can see what true romance is! And no, it’s not pillows and socks, thank you! 🙂

    Have a wonderfully yummy, happy T-day!!

  3. Hubby says:

    Love you too! The familial visit is going well. The usual stresses but I am enjoying not being at work. Today I stuffed a ham (don’t ask, most people are grossed out by it). My sister (20 yrs old) just got her first home (rental) with a friend of hers. It is a quaint little cottage on a river. I was taken back to my days of my first place when I didn’t understand the first thing about having my own place. Like how to work the furnance, decorating, etc. I am taking her shopping tomorrow to get curtains, blinds and other decorative items. Should be fun!

    See you all soon.

    G

  4. Tara says:

    I am with Brenda with this one. Does The Hub give lessons? You a very lucky Chris!!

    I hope you have a Wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

