Thanksgiving 2008

We love it, Nannie! It’s beautiful!

Thanksgiving this year was at my Nannie’s house, which is really the center gathering point of my mother’s family. My Uncle Barry and cousins Jill and Jennifer were there, along with Jen’s husband and two kids, my Mom and Dad, Sister Kristin, and finally little Nannie rounded out our little troop of merry folk.

I arrived at SK’s early, in order to cook my famous parmesan popovers, only to hear that she had forgotten to turn the oven on for her pie, and I had to wait 45 minutes. “Gah!” I said. But I didn’t really care. I played with Cooper. We bonded. He loves me most, now.

Nannie made the turkey, which was moist and delicious. It was perfect. We had squash casserole and turnip (ack!) and creamed onions and popovers and bread (Nannie doesn’t like my popovers. Whatever, old woman) and stuffing and sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes and gravy and candied carrots and green bean casserole.

For dessert SK made Tollhouse pie. Have you ever? It’s FEN. OM. IN. ALL. Phenomenal. Basically it is a giant squishy chocolate chip cookie, deep dish style. The Apple, Blueberry and Pumpkin pies didn’t even get a slice cut out of them. I’m not kidding. They were pouting, all “What about us? We are traditional! You love tradition, Chris2fer! Don’t shun us because our crust is tasteless and our filling is runny!” and I was all “Shun! Shun!”. Yeah.

While we eat my family talks and laughs. And, because what we are saying is very, very important, we talk louder and louder to get our point across, and in order to talk over the other three thousand conversations taking place at that exact time. We don’t realize it until we are leaving and we begin to wonder why we are losing our voices. The two queens of talking so loud that occasionally we get ringing in our ears are Jennifer and Jill. Although Jill usually wins. Girl is LOUD. (Hi Jill! Hug!)

After we ate Nannie had Uncle Barry take down her giant tin star that adorns her garage, and put up her “wreath”. My 79 year old Nannie made a giant wreath. And she is so proud of it. And, unfortunately, it is so… um… “unique”. It was sitting on it’s side in the garage for quite a while, so it is not round in the least. It’s a Christmas Oval. It is bedecked with what looks like all of the broken ornaments from the bottom of the oldest ornament box. Oh, you know what I mean, don’t pretend you don’t have a handful of gross old sad broken ornaments in your attic / basement. But, because she is our Nannie and we love her, we OOOed and AAAHed all over it. Although I’m fairly sure she heard the snickering.

All in all, it was a wonderful Thanksgiving. We laughed and hugged and ate and reaffirmed our familiness. And although Hub was still away, he was remembered. Every one of my relatives asked about him, and told me to tell him that he was missed.

My family is, as the kids say, “da bomb”. Look at me! I’m hip!

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving 2008

  1. Linda says:

    Hi,

    Where is the picture of Nannie’s oval wreath? LOL

  2. stef says:

    Hah! Ahh .. Nanny is awesome. I dunno though, I really think Jennifer should win. Sorry Jill! 😛

Leave a Reply

