The Great Ak

…and other lost Christmas awesomeness

I have been making my way through the Rankin-Bass Christmas specials this year. You know the ones – they have been around since Jesus was a baby (apropos!), we all watched them growing up and kind of ignore them now (unless for nostalgia reasons), they are stop motion. Yeah – you got  it. Well, there are a few that I hadn’t seen in years, so I DVR’d them. They took me back to when Christmas was all about presents and kindness and Santa and waiting and happy.

The Year Without A Santa Claus“. I was initially afraid that this was that animated mouse with the city-clock-tower-song one, but quickly realized that this one stars Heat Miser and Snow Miser. I love those guys. Their two songs always put a smile on my face. I love that Rankin Bass is making up it’s own mythology here.

hmiserI’m Mister Green Christmas
I’m Mister Sun
I’m Mister Heat Blister
I’m Mister Hundred and One
They call me Heat Miser,
What ever I touch
Starts to melt in my clutch
I’m too much!

smiserI’m Mister White Christmas
I’m Mister Snow
I’m Mister Icicle
I’m Mister Ten Below
Friends call me Snow Miser
What ever I touch
Turns to snow in my clutch
I’m too much!

jack_frost_large

Do you remember “Jack Frost“? I barely remembered this one, but once I started watching it I felt all kid-like and happy. Jack Frost flits around blowing cold winter winds on everyone. One day he sees a girl and falls in love, and petitions Father Winter to become human. Hijinks ensue. As the special was going on I remembered wishing I could fly around like Jack Frost does. It made me wonder why we don’t pay more attention to Jack Frost at this time of year. Santa gets all the good stories.

laosc

Lastly,  I loved “The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus”. I actually missed taping this, but I remember it well. It is a retelling of the Santa legend, culled from a book by L. Frank Baum. Santa is raised in a magical forest by elves and fairies. He goes on to deliver toys and become a Saint. At the end of his life the “The Great Ak”, a kind of forest god, convenes all of these sprites and minor gods of the world, and they bestow on Santa the mantle of Immortality. It’s so pagan that I’m surprised that it made it onto TV in 1985. Needless to say, I love it.

What are your favorite Christmas specials?

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Ak

  1. Peg says:

    When I was little (and Jesus was still a twinkle in God’s eye) there was a little animated song that came on now and then during Christmas. It went like this: “Here comes Susie snowflake, dressed in her snow white gown…tap, tap, tapping at your window pane, Susie’s come to town….” She was all frosty and sugar spun and beautiful. Never saw her again. Favorite Christmas story beside the obvious Christmas Story is “A wish for wings that work” with Opus and Bill the Cat. I adore Bill…even had him tatooed on me backside (ok, just his whiskers and eyes – who knew that the black hurt worst and Bill has lots of black). I am a child of the sixties and a lot of people I knew looked like Bill.

  2. Brenda M says:

    Well, I bought the “Christmas Classics” a few years ago(Rudolph, Frosty, Little Drummer Boy, etc.) for “the kids” and love those. I also bought the Peanuts holiday classics…these may be my favorites.

    But, how about this one, Yogi’s First Christmas…do you remember watching that one? Steven and I used to watch it(usually was on the week before Christmas) every afternoon for a week or so. It was made to continue each afternoon. Well, it is no longer available to buy…except on Amazon or eBay in used VHS condition. I got it a few years ago. It is horribly warped and discolored, but oh, the memories. Love it!

Leave a Reply

