Liner Notes, Day 3

It has been said many times, many ways…

The third song of the album is The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire). Phew, that’s a wordy title. You’d have thought that The Christmas Song would be iconic enough, but no. Let’s throw in the first line!

I love this song because it mentions Jack Frost, who, as my faithful readers know, is one of my favorite things about Winter. He nips! At your nose! Which, when pondered, might not be the cutest thing ever. Stop biting my nose, Jackie.

When we were kids we lived in a huge Victorian house in South Portland. We had a big fireplace in the living room that we would light on very cold nights. Around the holidays my mother would go out back to the chestnut tree and gather a bucket full of chestnuts, which we then would roast over the fire while telling stories about happy times. I’ll always think of our happy times when I taste chestnuts.

I’m kidding. Had you going for a second, though, right? Oh, Chris2fer. No one roasts chestnuts anymore, do they? And, do they taste anything like water chestnuts?

Jazzy!
The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)

The previous track: Here

This entry was posted in MP3, My Life, Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liner Notes, Day 3

  1. Peg says:

    If you were roasting chestnuts they were horse chestnuts since the edible kind died around here in the 20’s. I knew you were making it up cause it was a scene from Little Women…..ok…maybe not but from something.

Leave a Reply

