One for the books…

Thank you, Mr. President…

I am lucky that I work in a fairly large business in Maine and was able to take the time to watch the inauguration yesterday. There were actually several hundred of us in our cafeteria, a few hundred sitting and probably another hundred standing in the back of the very large room. It was definitely a party atmosphere. A few things struck me during the amazing proceedings…

– The leader of our Political Action Committee (yes, the leader of our PAC) tried to welcome us all on behalf of his organization, but then the inauguration actually started, and people started yelling at him to stop talking. Awkward…

– The odious Rick Warren prayed for a long, long time. And even so, everyone was silent in respect. If only he deserved our respect… (sigh)

– I think that someone close to Aretha should have told her that, at least in relation to bows on your head, bigger is not better. Plus, her backing track was hilarious… (“ring ring ring ring ring ring ring ring ring”…)

–  I had to keep looking away from the giant projection screen to keep myself from choking up. I kept looking at the moles on the lady’s neck who was sitting in front of me, and wondering if I should tell her that they were raised and irregular…

– Bill Clinton looks great. He must be bathing in some mystical elixir of youth. Plus, man can work that gray hair.

– When Obama said “On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.” you could hear a gasp from the crowd. And then clapping.

– “Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.” Yes!

– “And so to all the other peoples and governments who are watching today, from the grandest capitals to the small village where my father was born: know that America is a friend of each nation and every man, woman, and child who seeks a future of peace and dignity, and that we are ready to lead once more. ” Yes!

– “…we cannot help but believe that the old hatreds shall someday pass; that the lines of tribe shall soon dissolve; that as the world grows smaller, our common humanity shall reveal itself; and that America must play its role in ushering in a new era of peace. ” Yes!

– ” Let it be said by our children’s children that when we were tested we refused to let this journey end, that we did not turn back nor did we falter; and with eyes fixed on the horizon and God’s grace upon us, we carried forth that great gift of freedom and delivered it safely to future generations.” Yes!

In chatting with my mother last night, as we both were crying a little about how much hope was provided today, I told her “One day, I will look back and tell someone else’s children about this day”.

Yay, America.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One for the books…

  1. Wendy says:

    Wasn’t it amazing? I was so proud to be there and be part of it. I’m still smiling, exhausted but exhilarated!

  2. Brenda says:

    I watched at home(of course) with Gabby(she’s 5). I think she was a little more excited just to see the Obama girls but she sat silently through, pretty much, the whole thing. I doubt she will remember it, but I hope she will.

  3. Tara says:

    It was AWESOME….. I came home on lunch to see this. My daughter, age 7 almost 8 asked me why there was so much “glass” around him. We have brought our children up so NON racist that I had to have that “talk” with her and explain to her that there are still uneducated freaks in this country that cannot see past the color of one’s skin etc…. She understood I think. And then she said ” that’s just silly.” Innocence, if only everyone had the mind and heart of an innocent child.

Leave a Reply

