The Politics of Facebook

Please stop asking my parents if I’m upset with you…

Are any of you on Facebook (he asked needlessly)? I am, and I love it. It’s a great place to see your friends, to plan events, to join interest groups, or just to chat. I am not, however, one of those people who “collects” friends. I know that I do not have over 100 close friends in my life. I’m just not that popular.

Recently I went through and let go of many of the people that I had accumulated in my frenzied click-fest of Facebook newbie-ness. I was quickly approaching 200 friends at that point. I probably ended up “un-friending” over 80 people. I decided that I would not feel guilty about it, either. I did not unfriend these people because I was mad at them (as I have since been accused) or because they were not good people, it was just that perhaps I wasn’t very close to them, or perhaps they were friends at one time, but that time had passed. Also, I admit, I have changed alot since I first became friends with some people (in real life), and we just don’t have anything in common anymore.

Some people use FB as a collection of all of the people that they know in their lives. I simply don’t. Please don’t take offense. As I told one hurt person, you can always contact me through this site.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Politics of Facebook

  1. Tony R says:

    I made the cut! sweet.

  2. amester says:

    I too feel blessed to have made the cut!

Leave a Reply

