Faster, Chris2fer, Quiche! Quiche!

Last night we quiched. Oh, how we quiched.
Quiche Chris2fer

7 slices Bacon (about 1/2 cup crumbled)
1 cup shredded Cheese (4 oz)
1 medium Onion 
1/2 bunch of Asparagus
4 large Eggs
2 cups Half-and-Half  or whipping Cream or fatty Milk product
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/4 teaspoon Pepper
1 Pie Shell (just the bottom)

pinch

first-bake

1. Prepare shell as required per package. First, I pinch it all around to make it pretty. Then, I pre-bake it for 7 minutes so it doesn’t get that gooey bottom consistency. Nothing sucks like a gooey bottom.

2. Re-Set Oven to 325 (after baking the crust)

bacon
3. Cook bacon until crispy. Crumble that bacon up. Crumble it!

4. Shred cheese (if needed). I used a mix of Asiago, Romano and Parmesan that I bought pre-shredded at the store.

oniony

5. Cook onion in bacon grease until brown and caramelized.

asparagus

6. Chop Asparagus up into smallish sizes. Blanch it. (That means boil it for 5 minutes or so). It could also mean to be elderly and slutty (hello, Golden Girls).

putting-it-together
process

7. Place asparagus, bacon, onions and cheese into shell.

8. Mix together remaining ingredients (eggs, cream, salt, pepper).

9. Pour said mixture into shell over all your other goodness.

inside

cover-crust

10. Bake 50 minutes to an hour or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. If the pie crust is getting too brown, put some tin foil around it.

done

11. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

I also made some potatoes… and here’s my little secret…

Cut them up (that’s not the secret).

potato-bag

Put them into a plastic bag. Pour a glug or two of olive oil into the bag (also, not the secret, but a good tip nonetheless).

secret

This is the secret… you shake on chicken bouillon and grill mates. The bouillon gives a good flavor, and it adds a nice saltiness. The grill mates are herby and delicious.

red-bliss1

See? Now, you bake the hell out of them.

eat

And what did you have for dinner?

This entry was posted in My Life, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Faster, Chris2fer, Quiche! Quiche!

  1. Sadie's Mama says:

    I made homemade pizza…..but I’m definitely going to try your recipe!!!!!! We loves asparagus at our house….and roasty taters…..and we hates soggy bottoms.

  2. Sister says:

    I had popcorn. And I will not be trying your recipe. Asparagus is yucky.

  3. Hubby says:

    Best meal I have had in ages! I also got to have leftovers for lunch today. Thanks for the Blanch comment, I laughed out loud. Good work all around!!!

  4. Sadie's Mama says:

    I made this quiche….I’ve never made one before and it was AWEEESOOOMMMMEEEEE!

Leave a Reply

