Sadie

For Mary & Rob…

My friends Mary and Rob had to say goodbye to their wonderful dog Sadie on Friday. I have known Sadie as long as I have known Mary, and even longer than I knew Rob. There is no sweeter, more huggable friend in the world. Every time I saw her , she would hobble over and plant a big wet kiss on me, then drop off a wet stuffed animal for me to hold (she didn’t want me to feel jealous of her toy). Sadie also had the patience of Gandhi… Grady would have nibbled off my nose in the night had I approached him with these outfits…

Sadie Devil

Mary would dress Sadie up for any and all holidays, functions, and gatherings. This one was for her mother’s birthday, I think.

Sadie Flamingo

Mary’s favorite things in the world, barring Robert and Sadie, are flamingos. If you can’t tell, this is a flamingo costume. I think she made Sadie wear this around the house on a daily basis.

sadie-turkey-day

I would totally wear this hat.

sadie-coconuts1

This is my favorite. I love her coconut bra. You can tell that she does, too. Look at that smile!

sadie-star

See? Gandhi.

sadie-wedding

This was what she wore at Mary and Rob’s wedding. You can see in her eyes how proud she is her outfit. What a beautiful girl!

Goodbye, Sadie. Here’s a hug for you.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sadie

  1. peg says:

    Every owner’s deepest dread. I’m sorry Mary and Rob. There’s a lot of trite crap you will hear now so let me be the first – “you take the pain, so they don’t have to”.

  2. Sadie's Mama says:

    Thank you! We loved our girl and miss her!! Miss everything about her….her kisses, snuggling with her….thank you for the wonderful tribute about our beautiful girl. And yes, she did rock that coconut bra!!!!

  3. Jennifer Dow says:

    Mary and Rob, I am so, so sorry for your loss. I lost my Hunter one year ago April 4th, it was the worst day of my life in more ways than one. I know the pain that you are feeling because I miss him every day. May your wonderful memories of Sadie be with you always. My thoughts are with you both..

    Chris what a terrific tribute..

Leave a Reply

