A Happy Birthday Weekend

A Very Merry Unbirthday, to me, to me…

Well, I did it. It happened. I turned (Dun Dun Duuunnnn…) 35. Oh. Ma. God. Becky. Look at her butt. It’s so… Old. Yep, 35. No longer even the hint of being young remains about my slowly decaying and aging form. Stand aside, young whippersnappers. Fogey coming through. Creak. That was the sound of my bones crying out with age.

Happily, I had plenty of love surrounding me to soften the blow of the 35 years settling around my shoulders. On Saturday we had friends over for a birthday luncheon. The Hub made a cake that was the size of a mountain – I’ll have to post a picture. You wont believe the giant-ness. We had Mac and Cheese and Bruschetta and excellent Salad and Ikea Meatballs with Lingonberry sauce and Baklava and Cake. Mmm. And I got a Nintendo DS. With all the trimmings. Thanks, Hub! That is exactly what I wanted. How do you always know? And thanks to Mary for the This Old House magazine subscription (now, when I come over, I will pay attention to you instead of your mags!) and to Zee Zee for the Gin (always appreciated).

nintendo-ds-lite

Then, on Sunday we took Padre out to Bugaboo Creek for Padre’s Day and then back to my parent’s house for a cake extravaganza. Where I got a Wii. A Wii! I didn’t even ask for a Wii ’cause it’s so expensive and cool, I just didn’t think I’d get one. But I did. Now, by definition, I am cool. Like the kids nowadays. You know, the aforementioned whippersnappers. Thanks go out to Mom and Dad and Hubby and Sabrina and Nannie and Sister Kristin for the hours and hours of gaming fun that will be happening. Imagine for one second the ferocity of a Westie trying to figure out why I am standing in the living room flailing my arms about… Awesome.

Wii players

I’m the blond in the brown shirt. Yeah – that diet has been really working out…

Zelda, can you hear me? I’ll be saving you soon!

This entry was posted in Grady, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Happy Birthday Weekend

  1. Wendy says:

    Ohh yes, my Rosco looks at me all kind of crazy when I’m playing Wii..

    Brain Age is the BEST DS game! If you didn’t get it, you should!

  2. Wendy says:

    Oh and I can’t believe it has been FIVE years since I met you guys out at Bubbas for your 30th! Karayzee!!

Leave a Reply

