The Top 10 Michael Jackson Songs According To Chris2fer

The Scarecrow is dead…

Hmm. It feels a little disingenuous to write about Mr. Jackson passing away. The man has become such an extreme caricature of himself (and, let’s face it, of LaToya) for what is approaching 20 years now that anything like a sincere eulogy is a little fake. On the other hand, he did provide much of the music of my youth, and his good songs really do hold up to the test of time.

In that light…

The Top 10 Michael Jackson songs of all time

10. Scream – My friend Dexter loved this song. A brilliant duet with Janet.

9. Smooth Criminal – Remember the video? When he was standing and then tilted over but didn’t fall? Awesome. Also: “Annie, Are you ok?”

8. Thriller – Go to Youtube, look up “Thriller dance” and glory in the fact that hundreds of people learned this dance and still do it at weddings and in prison.

7. Billie Jean – I want a floor that lights up when I step on it, in time to the music in my mind.

6. Man In The Mirror – An exceptional song about working to make the world a better place by looking inward.

5. Wanna Be Starting Something – Ma Ma Se Ma Ma Sa Ma Ma Coo Sa.

4. Remember The Time – My friend Amy loved this song. I remember we waited up to see the video premier on MTV. Starring Eddie Murphy. It was terrible. But the song was great!

3. Black or White – Aside from the stupid introduction (Ok, Eat this!) this was an amazing song, and even more amazing video.

2. The Way You Make Me Feel – Classic 80s pop at it’s finest.

1. Rock With You – Go find this and listen. You will feel the need to dance. Do.

~

 “And when the groove is dead and gone,

You know that Love survives

So we can rock, forever…”

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Top 10 Michael Jackson Songs According To Chris2fer

  1. Jackson songs listen says:

    Just wanted to say I just ordered this Thriller Album, to bring back Michael in our memories. I grew up with MJ. He is the Best! We will certainly miss you.

  2. luvflamingos says:

    Now I’ll never know what his nose really looks like under the masks, make up and oddly placed bandaids.

  3. mike says:

    He had some of the best music videos also. “Smooth Criminal” is my favorite. I will miss him.

  4. Sabrina says:

    Sabs top 10 MJ songs:
    10. I Just Can’t Stop Loving You – a duet with Siedah (sp?) Garret. I think it is beautiful.
    9. We are the World – ground breaking; a brilliant idea and a beautiful song written by Lionel Richie and MJ produced by Quincy. A perfect combination.
    8. Say Say Say and The Girl is Mine – both duets with Paul McCartney. Both straight up pop classics.
    7. Blame it on the Boogie – actually a Jacksons song. I think that statement sums up his career. You can say what you want about the man but there is no denying the way he influenced music and the world.
    7. Can You Feel It – I know…..another Jacksons song, but hey, he was practically the entire group anyway.
    6. Will You Be There – beautiful song; love the choir and the modulations.
    5. Beat It – Classic.
    4. Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough – Whenever I hear that Woooooo! and then the strings all my cares melt away and I just want to dance.
    3. ABC – young Michael’s soaring vocals are something else. This song just makes me tap my fingers and my feet and I just want to sing.
    2. Rock With You – same thing. Whenever I hear the first few notes I just can’t help but smile.
    1. Off The Wall – my favorite Michael vocal of all time.

Leave a Reply

