Your Gray Day Playlist

‘Pon wondering what songs ye ol’ Ipod had on it with regards to the current weather…

1. Rain, by Madonna
Do you remember this song from her Erotica album? In the video she had on a black short wig, and was standing in front of a bank of lights. Suprisingly, this is one of my favorite Madonna tunes. “Your Love’s coming down like… Rain…” Listen

2. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head, by B.J. Thomas
This song perfectly encapsulates my (imagined) childhood: soft rainy days spent playing with Lincoln Logs or listening to “The Story Of Davy Crockett” on my little record player, or making crafts, or jumping in mud puddles, or falling asleep with my head against the window pane watching the rivulets of water. “It won’t be long till happiness steps up to greet me.” Listen

3. Rainy Days And Mondays, by the Carpenters
Once more I have to insist that you listen to her voice and tell me that it isn’t perfectly described with the phrase “chocolate velvet”. It surrounds and sooths and warms you. “Nice to know somebody loves me.” Listen

4. Don’t Rain On My Parade – Barbra Streisand, Funny Girl
To all my gay brothers reading this, YAY! Barbra! To all my straight girl friends reading this, Woohoo! Streisand! To all my straight guy friends, this is a song from a musical from the 60s. You wouldn’t understand. Move on. “I’ll march my band out…”

5. Here Comes The Rain Again – The Eurythmics
The Eurythmics, and Annie Lennox in particular, remind me of my high-school friend Liz. She was my first grown up friend. We would hang out at her apartment and just listen to the music. This song gives me that “just discovering my sexuality and being bad” feeling. Too bad Liz called me fat and bald and now we don’t talk. “Is it raining with you?” Listen

6. I Love A Rainy Night – Eddie Rabbit
This is one of those perfect driving songs that makes you want to drive all night with a couple friends, stopping to eat at a diner and just being cool. Plus, it’s fun to snap along to. “You know it makes me feel good.” Listen

7. It’s Raining Men – The Weather Girls
I remember this song being played in a gay club (shocker) and I was so happy that it was a song I knew the words to, and not one of those “house” songs that I had never heard of that was just 17 minutes of drum beats and some girl OOOing every now and then. “It’s Raining Men <clap!> Hallelujah, it’s raining men <clap! clap!> Amen!” Listen

8. Purple Rain, Prince
When I was in college I briefly dated a girl name Cathy. One night we double dated and ended up at a park after dark. We played Prince and made out for hours. It was nice, actually. I know, shocker²… “I only want 2 see U laughing in the purple rain.” Listen

9. Stranger To The Rain – Children of Eden
In college we did this show. Melody or Melissa (or something) sang this song. She was little and beautiful and had really thick softly curly hair. I loved her a little. She, of course, never deigned to glance at a freshman. And yes, this blog entry is surprisingly straight in spite of the show tunes and Streisand. “I will dance before the lightning to music sacred and profane.”

10. The Rainbow Connection – Kermit, The Muppet Movie
You know, this song is pretty deep for a children’s movie. That Jim Henson, teaching us about life in the midst of a puppet movie. If you haven’t listened to the words on this one in a while, you should… Listen

Why are there so many
Songs about rainbows
And what’s on the other side
Rainbow’s are visions
They’re only illusions
And rainbows have nothing to hide
So we’ve been told and some chose to
Believe it
But I know they’re wrong wait and see

Someday we’ll find it
The Rainbow Connection
The lovers, the dreamers and me

Who said that every wish
Would be heard and answered
When wished on the morning star
Somebody thought of that
And someone believed it
And look what it’s done so far
What’s so amazing
That keeps us star gazing
What so we think we might see

Someday we’ll find it
That Rainbow Connection
The lovers the dreamers and me

Have you been half asleep
And have you heard voices
I’ve heard them calling my name
Are these the sweet sounds that called
The young sailors
I think they’re one and the same
I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it
There’s something that I’m supposed to be

Someday we’ll find it
The Rainbow Connection
The lovers, the dreamers and me

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Your Gray Day Playlist

  1. luvflamingos says:

    Loves the Rainbow Connection!!!!

  2. Sister says:

    The Rainbow Connection always makes me a little bit sad…

  3. Sabrina says:

    OMG. Rain is one of my favorite Madonna songs too! We should be friends. I love all your rain song choices and especially love Rainbow Connection.

Leave a Reply

