Whitney Houston – I Look To You

Whitney? Is that you? OMG, it is! Hey girl!

Whitney is streaming her WHOLE ALBUM on her website now. Read on to find out if it delivers…

1. Million Dollar Bill
Uptempo late 80’s R&B. Needless to say, I love it. Written by Alicia Keys. And let’s get this out of the way – her voice is older. She’s 46. She’s been through alot of crap. The drugs probably didn’t help. But once you get past your memory of her voice, she sounds really good. Better than many on the radio now, at any rate.

2. Nothin’ But Love
Uptempo club thumper. Deep base line with Whitney singing over it. She’s talking about the “haters”, which she’s done before, but this time she has nothing but love for them. She’s letting go of the pain. Let it go, Whit. Let it go.

3. Call You Tonight
This is almost a country song – listen to the twang at the beginning. Her voice sounds great on this track. Mid-tempo. This will make a great remix…

4. I Look To You
The title song and the first ballad on the album. It starts with a piano and “strings”. It’s very reminiscent of I Will Always Love You (except 2 octaves lower). The words are strangely moving. I wanted it to build and build to a crescendo, and it starts to, but then it kind of just drops off. It may grow on me.

5. Like I Never Left
Akon and Whitney. This sound like it was a hidden track on “My Love Is Your Love”. This is a duet, and Akon sounds good. This is an uptempo “island track”.

6. A Song For You
This is one of my favorite songs of all time (here’s the Karen Carpenter version if you’ve never heard it), and to her credit Whitney doesn’t try to out-ballad Ms. Carpenter. It starts with just Whitney’s voice and a piano, but then (wisely) breaks into a full dance stomp. So far, this is my favorite track. Woohoo!

7. I Didn’t Know My Own Strength
The second ballad, and the better of the two. This was written by Diane Warren, so that’s no real surprise. In “I Look To You”, Whit looked to us for strength. In this one, she finds her own. She sounds gorgeous on this track, if a little breathy.

8. Worth It
This is a nice fusion of hip-hop and R&B. It has a nice back beat, and Whit sounds good. It’s about being in a long term relationship, and never giving up on it. That it’s worth it. Nice slow jam.

9. For The Lovers
Whitney’s singing through the vocoder on this one, but not to a Cher “Believe” point. This will be a hit at the club. It has a strong and catchy melody. You’ll find this one stuck in your head all day. Throw your hands up!

10. I Got You
Kanye and Whitney. She starts with a beautiful high note – I’m surprised she has it in her, to be honest. This is basically a re-worked “I Got You Babe”. The sentiment is the same. No matter where you are, you got me. Nice thick chorus.

11. Salute
This was written by R Kelly, which I will try to ignore. Handclaps and deep bass all under a message about breaking up. Hmmm. She is tired of crying. She is stronger than you. She is better than you. She salutes you. Hmmm. I wonder who this is about? (hint: Baaaahhhhhbbbbyyyy!)

This is exactly what I wanted from a new Whitney album. She sounds better than I expected, the songs are radio friendly and singable, and slickly produced. Way to go, Whitney. Excellent job. Welcome back.

This entry was posted in Music review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whitney Houston – I Look To You

  1. Coreyander says:

    I want Whitney to feel better!

  2. Sabrina says:

    I’m so excited. I can’t wait until 8/31!

  3. Chris2fer's Hubby says:

    Ok, she sings like a crack whore…raspy and ghetto. I don’t think she will ever be the Whitney we used to love. More like a wig wearing Macy Gray.

Leave a Reply

