A Winter Afternoon Shuffle

I love you, my little ipod…

Shall we take a short walk through an ipod set to shuffle? We shall.

1. You’re Not From Here – Lara Fabian
Have you heard of her? She is like the Canadian version of Celine Dion. You know, if Celine wasn’t the Canadian version of Celine. Ok, she is like her much less successful successor. Anyway, this song is haunting.
 Listen and Buy

2. United State of Pop – DJ Earworm
Mr. Earworm is a DJ, as evidenced by his first name. He mixed songs together. I think the hip kids call it a mashup. This particular “mashup” (I’m young and cool!) is all the greatest songs of 2010 pop. Although it begins with Kesha, so Pbbblt.
Download

3. You Wont Suceed On Broadyway – Spamalot, The Broadway Soundtrack
The wonderous David Hyde Pierce sings this ditty to Dr. Frankenfurter himself, Tim Curry (So, come up to the lab…) about staging a Broadway show and how you need some jews and some gays. Either way, he references Streisand, so yay!
Listen and Buy

4. Appletree – Erykah Badu
The first year I moved home from College, (the lost year) I lived in my parent’s basement. I remember buying a computer (I didn’t have one in college – almost no one did (I’m old)) and exploring this new thing called the internet. I would light incense and listen to this album and chill. Now I recommend it for a quiet evening with friends.
Listen and Buy

5. Rejoice – Bec Jenkins
My girlfriend in college, and the girl I thought I was going to marry. That didn’t work out, which was for the best for both of us. Obviously. However, she could sing like an angel and she recorded a demo in college. We had just broken up, so I ended up buying this rather than being gifted it. Let me know if you want me to send you an MP3 of this. It’s pretty great.

6. Because Of You – Kelly Clarkson (Jason Nevins Acapella Mix)
Excellent Kelly song, completely stripped down to just the vocals. It’s like a primer on how to add effects to pop songs.
Listen and Buy

7. Whenever I Call You Friend – Kenny Loggins
Yes, I know it’s ancient. But listen to the backing vocals. Perfect! “Sweet love showin’ on some heavenly night…”
Listen and Buy

8. Face To Faith – Sandi Patti
I sang this when my first year Summer Ministries team went to Canada to perform. If there is anything in that sentence that doesn’t make sense to you then you did not go to ENC!
PS – Hi Sandi!
Listen and Buy

9. Superman – Prelude and Main Title March
When I was a wee bairn I used to take my mother’s “Pops In Space” record, stand in the living room with a straw, and conduct the hell out of this piece. Also, I wanted to fly. Also, I like his cape. Also, I have a little crush on Brandon Routh.
Listen and Buy

10. Better Way – Spencer Day
I can’t recommend this guy enough. His album Vagabond is essential listening. He’s a mixture of Chet Baker and Harry Connick Jr. Please go here and listen:
Listen and Buy

11. The Boy From Ipanema – Diana Krall
An excellent jazzy standard, twisted.
Listen and Buy

12. We Both reach For The Gun – Chicago Movie Soundtrack
Oh yes, oh yes, oh yes they both, oh yes, they both, oh yes, they both, reached for the gun, the gun, the gun, the gun, oh yes they both reached for the gun, for the gun.
Listen and Buy

13. My Body Keeps Changing My Mind – Karen Carpenter
From her unreleased solo album (until after she died). It’s a boogie disco confection that’s sexier than the Carpenters have a right to be.
PS – I love her voice. LOVE.
Listen and Buy

14. Older – George Michael
A sad, lush track about realizing that you can’t go back to an ex.
Listen and Buy

15. I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Wont Do That)
Come on. It’s over the top, it’s overblown, it’s flashy and glittery and bombastic. And awesome. It’s also TWELVE minutes long.
Listen and Buy

16. Cry Me A River – Michael Buble
This link doesn’t do the track justice… perfectly produced jazz pop of a classic standard. Just buy it.
Listen and Buy

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, My Life, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

